The Jean Baptiste Bavier – Sidonie Blond Family

This is the story of two families who came to America from France, seeking a better life in the rich coal fields of Kansas. They would eventually come to settle in southern Illinois and work the coal mines in Franklin County.

The individuals seated above were known as Jean Baptiste Bavier and Sidonie Blond in France. When they came to America, they became known as John Bavier and Sadie Blond. They married in America and became Mr. and Mrs. John Bavier and raised four fine children.

America was a country that held such hope for their future but they continued with their longing for the “old country” and the rich traditions of France.

These people are my great grandparents. They would be amazed to see how their generations have grown and spread far and wide across this vast nation.

15 thoughts on “The Jean Baptiste Bavier – Sidonie Blond Family

  1. Welcome to the GeneaBloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Dr. Bill ;-)
    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/
    Author of “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories” and family saga novels:
    “Back to the Homeplace” and “The Homeplace Revisited”
    http://thehomeplaceseries.blogspot.com/
    http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner
    http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner

  2. Thanks for all the hard work. I am the son of Fernie Bavier. Fedelll Bavier was my Grampa. Charles Bavier is my name. I stumbled on John Bavier’s grave in Southern Illinois in 1998 I believe it was. Just about a year after John died. I met his widow Nina and their daughter. I live in Northern Michigan

    • John and Nina were my grandparents. So, Fedell and Lillie (Thayer) Bavier were your grandparents? That would make us 2nd cousins 1x removed. So glad you found my Bavier genealogy site.

      • Lillie my Grandmother died in 1964 about September. I couldn’t go to her funeral with my parents because I had started a new job at General Motors and was trying to get my 90 days in. I was afraid I might get fired if I took any time off.

  3. I have in my possession two photo’s of Luther Thayer lying in his coffin. I could scan them to you if you would like to see them.

Leave a Reply

